One of the things that was always a blessing to me when I didn’t have a license and then didn’t have a car was a ride somewhere so that I did not have to take hours by public transit to get there.  Mr. Riddler’s car died a week ago and I asked for a ride to work and I agreed to give him one and pick him up.

TeaBag is 19 and a former foster care child who doesn’t have his driver’s license.  When I met him in my ART 420 film class he offered to get me high for a ride home.  We began to hang out and he asked me if I would help him get his license.  When he asked it reminded me back to when I was 19 and asked my mom and she said no.

I thought about how much of a difference it would have made in my life if I would have had my driver’s license when I left home soon after my mom saying no.  The difference would have been astounding and the limitations imposed on my by not having it became apparent right after I got it.  I know the level of independence and the confidence it has given me especially when applying for work or meeting new people.

So while thinking about this, I agreed to help TeaBag and have been letting him drive my car and we have taken road trips.  So today I picked up TeaBag after picking up Riddler and off we went.  After dropping off Riddler, we decided to drive to a nearby park.  Sacramento is after all, the city of trees.

image

So we drove to Glen Hall Park at the intersection of Sandberg and Carlson drived.  It is a park with tennis courts, a pool and sports fields.  It also has river access.  But what I noticed first were all of the signs… and there were a lot of them.

image

From the signs warning of the dangers of the moving gate.

image

To the multiple warning signs about being out of the parking lot before the gate closed.  I decided not to risk it and parked on the street after seeing the warning on the gate.  Just in case…

image

Not that I was worried about being there that long, rather I thought it might have a fee and street parking had no meters.

image

As long as I am not drinking from an open container and am out before sunset then I am golden.

image

Some of the warnings seem like common sense until you realize that common sense is not so common.

image

So they are working on the levees in Sacramento because if they fail, the city and county become a lake.  They grow rice here.

image

Rules.  Rules.  Rules.  That should just be common sense but we don’t expect people to have it.

image

More rules and park information.  Because safety is important and making sure that people are safe ensures that they know the not so common common knowledge.

image

The signs are everywhere and this one talks about life preservers and how children don’t float.  Seriously.

image

No one wants to hear about the tragedy of drowned babies, so life jackets are supplied at the park.

image

It is sad they have to post this and even though they do, people still dump.an incredible amount of stuff and leave behind lots of garbage.

image

They don’t even insure that their garbage lands in the cans, there must be someone to pick it up.

image

Dogs are supposed to be on a leash so you can clean up their poo.  There are bag stations and bags available.

image

But they don’t and it fossilizes in the arid environment here.  There was an owner with dogs on the beach and his dogs had shit in the clean clear river.  You could see it and the reason I know it was fresh is because it was still there.

image

I stood in the river.  So clear.  So clean and so cool almost cold.

image

Seeing the dog retrieve the stick reminded me so much of Cassidy.   I miss her so much and even though it has been almost 5 months, it seems like yesterday.

image

Samsung has this panoramic mode and this picture was taken from where I was standing in the river.  This area is truly amazing and I cannot imagine how beautiful it was before settlers arrived here because quite a few Native American tribes lived in this area.

image

It is an amazingly calm section of river here and they call it Paradise Beach.  I can easily see how it could be seen as such.

image

Then I let Jose drive home.  It was a good day after all.  We went to the Tupelo Coffee House for something to cure the cotton mouth.   I got iced coffee and a long with the refill costed more then Starbucks.   Although I think it tasted better and the money went to a small business.

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

