So, I got some trickle down economics today from the Auto Industry and the Corporate IT World today in the form of a contract where I upgraded the software on every workstation at a car dealership in Yuba City today.  It started at 9am and I was prepared to be there all day, even though I had only gotten 3 hours of sleep last night because I was texting and talking all night to a chick I met through an online dating website that I signed up for as a joke.  And we sent jokes back and forth and somewhere in the messages on the site, phone numbers were exchanged and we began texting.  This of course turned in to a phone call and then another call. 

I am not sure how the topic came up, but she said that at one time she had thought she might be a lesbian but didn’t like it.  That she didn’t like onions but hated having to always say “hold the onions” so she began eating them and taught herself to not even notice them.  She then said she tried the same thing with Pussy but it just didn’t work because, well, pussy isn’t onions.  So that was the NSFW stuff.  I wanted to take a picture of the wild chickens in Yuba City that are protected by city ordinances.  The people either ignore them or feed them with every shade in between.  I look at them and I respect them because I know what they really are.  They are omnivore dinosaurs and they will eat anything.  In Chinese astrology, I am a cock.  True story.  In western astrology, I am a pisces, the fish, whatever the hell that means.  Look, I understand the wonder of the night sky as viewed by those who invented astrology, it was an amazing mystery and I so want to take my kids to somewhere like the Australian Outback to see the night sky without lights for hundreds of miles in all directions because it is mind blowing,

Speaking of mind blowing, this chick is truly and amazingly cool.  She is getting ready to start a masters program and she is smart.  Opinionated.  Passionate.  Driven.  And she has as warped a sense of humor as I do.  And she understands my philosophy of it’s ok to disagree, just don’t be a dick about it,   I have to  thank my friend Riddler because when we were on our way to Kethry’s birthday party he told me a series of jokes that I told her and she laughed.  I laughed when he told them to me.  What do you call a dear without eyes? No Eyed Dear.  What about a dear without eyes or testicles?  No Fucking Eyed Dear.  What about without legs, balls or eyes?  Still no fucking eyed dear.  Yes, she laughed.  Yeah, it could have been sympathy laughter.  But it made me laugh telling it and laughter is good for the mind, body and soul.  We discuss politics, thoughts, random ideas.  It’s like watching some formulaic boy meets girl romantic comedy unfold in real time and my ART420 class has be listening to the dialog and imagining how I would shoot it, if I were making it as a movie.

I feel change in the air again like that tingle of electricity that you got as a kid when you rubbed your sock covered feet on the shag carpet in your living room and then snuck up behind your sibling ad touched them.  Growing up, my older sister Chelly and close family friends at the time used to play hide and go seek in our townhouses, we lived next door to each other and they had this tan shag carpet,   I am just not sure if I am going to once again change the course of my life or if I am just going to figure out how to find that paddle and maybe upgrade my canoe to a larger model with GPS. 

So, my credit card was bought by a company that I had cancelled my card with to get this card and in the process they screwed up my ability to pay online.  Trying to pay on the phone requires me to have an internet connection because I need to login to my bank website to give them the last four digits of the account number that I cannot remember to save my life because I am dyslexic and mix the numbers up.  The customer service at this company really do not listen to what is being said, and I know it is not how I am explaining it because it is my area of expertise, it is IT related.  I explained to the first customer service person the problem that I was having and that I did not have a way to get the account number but that I had previously used it to pay my bill.  She said it was for security purposes, which is bullshit because I had already verified my identity by providing every account detail she asked for.  Now keep in mind that this company has had data breaches before, so when she said I could use my ATM / Debit card to pay, I reminded her of this and asked for a supervisor.  When the Supervisor told me this call might be recorded, I explained to her how ludicrous this situation was because this provided no security.  She explained that the bank required that I provide this information and I thought she was talking about my bank.  Now this next comment from her shows her total lack of comprehension because she says why would you call your bank about this banks policy.  See, her terminology was not clear and that was HER fault because she should have said it was her companies policy, or used the companies name and not the generic title of the bank.  Words and meaning matter in our society and people often use a stylized method of synonym generation that often doesn’t truly mean the same thing.

Like when I was at the zoo for the primatology class and parents would say “Look at the monkeys” while viewing the chimpanzees.  Why does it bother me, you ask?  Simply because these are the same people who will ask if I believe in evolution and when I respond to that I do they say something totally stupid like “I don’t believed we evolved from monkeys.”  Or ask in a stupidly sounding snide voice “So, you believe that we evolved from monkeys?” They are not monkeys on Planet of the Apes, they are Apes and there is a huuuuge difference, on the scale of a house cat versus a jaguar.  Here’s an easy way of understanding the difference, no apes have tails, most monkeys have tails.  Greater apes like chimpanzees, bonobos, orangutans and gorillas all  walk on the ground and all but gorillas spend time in the canopy.  Non-human primates are amazing, fascinating creatures and they deserve our protection because most of them show rational reasoning and thought and Apes are truly amazing.  The understanding of just how amazing they are has been realized in the last 20 years and it surpasses what we understood back when their plights were first made a topic of discussion.  They can communicate using gorilla or chimpanzee or bonobo sign language because their prehensile, gripping hands are not quite the same as ours.  Non-human primates are awesome and I am sure you are wondering what this has to do with texting and phone calls.

She is awesome because she used the term non-human primates, porch monkey and yard ape in her conversation and unlike clerks her ethnicity sort of makes her ownership valid. 

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

2 responses »

  1. somekindaodd says:

    Hey text me the name of the web site…

Leave a Reply

