It was frigid this morning.  At Starbucks, I decided to go and get MooSe for school.  It seemed to take forever to get there!  Meter lights and a line at the onramp delayed me easily 10 minutes.  Then there were two accidents that slowed things down for another 10 minutes.  When I arrived I Traded MooSe My Starbucks Coffee Refill for a Wake & Bake session.

20140121_091513

The drive back to school was much more pleasant then the drive to pickup MooSe, mainly because he was there.  You know. misery loves company and stuff.

20140121_101053

When we got to school, MooSe needed to go to the bookstore.  I needed a few minutes of me time, so that I could push through the social anxiety that is the first day of school for me.  Luckily Moose gave me some vape liquid and let me pack my head stash.

20140121_103551

The parking lots are full today, the first day.  The majority of the students here today wont last past the first week of February.  So many New Years Resolutions coming to a brutal, humiliating end.  Cynical?  No.  I will share a picture when it happens and the part that pisses me off the most is that I wont get in to all of the classes that I want this semester.

20140121_103758

I love the camera on the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 and these wide angle photographs are amazing when viewed in all their glory.  Hopefully my new editor will figure out how to put them online so that you can.

20140121_105348

No, I am not lost, I just couldn’t find MooSe.  Then I saw this….

20140121_105554

Which killed my high and reminded me in stark reality exactly where I was like a bad episode of Community.  I had to stop for a minute, take a breath and find myself because I was a bit lost.

20140121_105410

I love and loathe the first day of a semester.  I love the sense of new beginning and the excitement surrounding it but I loathe all the time we waste with teachers going over the syllabus, obvious attendance and other rules.  I know why they do it and that just makes it sting all that more because the people who elicited this response are my classmates.

It doesn’t look like I am going to get in to the ASL2 class which makes me a few credits shy of full-time.  That could change with more people dropping out after the deadline.  I am going to ask the professor if I can stuck around until the final date to drop classes with a refund as that is usually when people make the ultimate decision.  Since it is a 4 unit class….  The worst part about not getting in this class is that MooSe and two of my other friends are in the class.  Argh.  Shit.  And now it is 10:15 and time for me to go crawl in to my bed.  Early to bed.  Early to rise.  Aaron needs a ride to work, then off to get MooSe for school.

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

