image

Memories are moments of our existence chemically stored in our brains. The older we grt the more we store but the harder they are to recall but flow freely enough on their own.

I find myself outside of a Starbucks waiting for MooSe to handle the legal paperwork at the Neptune Society’s office in regards to his wife’s cremains according to her wishes.  I sit here trying to clear my mind and find calm but the tragedy in my life this month and the loss from My People has been incredible and close to home.

It has shaken me to the very foundations of my being and made me painfully aware of my own mortality.  How quickly it can all tumbling down around you and that in the end the only ones who truly matter in this world are the ones you love because they love you.  Your people.  We all have them, both near and far. Mine spell their names oddly or have weird fetishes for apples while others make me want to dance on the sun.

But today, I contemplate the end of my friend Thea and what I can do to ease the suffering of my friend, MooSe.

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

