Zach Larson Facebook

So I haven’t blogged much since the summer semester ended, primarily because I was just being lazy but also because I just didn’t feel like it.  During the summer break, I ended a twenty year friendship and then the first week of school MooSe’s wife was diagnosed with cancer and this has just left me feeling a but reclusive.  Add to that the disappointment that I felt from being promised a digital SLR and then having it not materialize and I am sure that you can see where my malaise came from.

Then my life seemed to take a really crazy turn when two weeks ago someone rear ended me at a traffic light because I stopped instead of clogging the intersection like everyone else selfishly does.  Then after the accident, my passenger and I helped push the car out of the intersection and in to a parking lot and in to a space.  I then drove the guy a couple of miles to retrieve his young son.  I explained to him that the only reason I was doing it was because it was his child and being a father, I respected that bond and desire to retrieve his kid.  This happened at damn near 4:20 and guess what I wasn’t and hadn’t done….

Then as usual, I went to Starbucks to do homework and socialize with my Starbucks Nerdy friends when I got a text and then a phone call that rocked my world.  My openly gay nephew had hung himself.  In the aftermath, I learned that he was bullied in high school, my alma mater, for being gay.  So I decided to blog about it on my blogs.  I have been spending a lot of time at Starbucks doing homework and studying which often reminds me of how much money I do not have and how much people who eat at Starbucks take it for granted.  I was wallowing in my assuaged cotton mouth and growing munchies…..

When Chester The Cheetah walked in and my realization that it isn’t easy being cheezy made me realize that MooSe had given me some good stuff.  I really have been working hard at school on Fitness.  I have lost 20lbs since the beginning of the semester and maybe more since I am sure I have added a lot of muscle in Weight Training.  I also park in the Stadium Parking Lot, as far from campus as possible and walk.  This last week, I began adding the stairs at the bleachers to the walk, taking it up a notch.  Ultimately I want to be able to walk up and down each set of steps in the home bleachers without being out of breath or my legs burning.  Then being able to do it twice.

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

