image There are something like 30,000 students currently enrolled at American River College and they assign enrollment dates so that the system does not get overwhelmed with students.  Unfortunately the classes begin to fill up well before some people even get the chance to enroll.  Notice, I am on the wait list for the Anthropology class, but my friend got in last night and is not on the wait list, so in the intervening hours the class filled up.

Even though the college limits you to 18 units for both the summer and fall semesters when registration opens, it does not reduce the number of classes that fill up.  The part that pisses me off the most is that I know that by the last day to drop with a “W” for Withdrawal on your transcript will see most of the classes lose a large percentage of their students.  Classes that I could have gotten in and made it through.  Now, I realize that I dropped the ASL class, but I honestly tried to stick it out.  I only changed my mind when I realized that most of the class failed a quiz and the teacher had to give it again because the results were so dismal and in his note he said that the students misunderstood the format.  Hah, we just didn’t get taught the necessary skills, but I digress.

image

So, the above are the Pilates and a Yoga class I would like to take in the fall to round out my fulltime schedule.  Unfortunately the classes are full and therefore closed, so what I might do is just show up the first day for both classes to make sure that everyone shows up since a lot can happen between now and the fall.  I will also continually check to see of this status changes as people drop out of college over the summer.  I am not sure how my body will react to both Yoga and Pilates but I am sure that it cannot be anything but good for me.  The idea is to try and lose 100 pounds by Christmas.  This way I don’t feel like I need to act like Kevin Smith and purchase two tickets on the flight to keep from being thrown off for being a fat white guy, mainly because I just do not want to be a fat white guy anymore.  I tried it for a while and have decided it just is not as fun as it is cracked up to be.  So wish me luck.  I hope to get in to them. 🙂

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

