So back at the end of March, right before Spring Break, I accidentally left my Starbucks refillable, customizable cold tumbler in the classroom where my ASL class meets in Davies Hall at American River College.  This cup cost less then $20 and I used it daily to drink water, home made coffee and the Starbucks drinks out of.  I made a label with my name, email address and telephone number that was stuck between the two walls of the tumbler.  I contacted the teacher and he checked the next day but the cup was nowhere to be found.  So it either got thrown away, which is unlikely or someone took it, opened it, took my label out and is now enjoying it on their own.  This wouldn’t really have bothered me except this is the second time now someone has absconded with my Starbucks cup.  The last time it happened at a Wal-Mart and someone took my shopping cart, with the cup in it while my back was turned.  The sad part is that currently, because of the costs for school, I will not be able to replace this cup.  Since the savings at the store is only 10 cents, I would have to purchase like 200 drinks to actually make it pay for itself.  Unfortunately they do not have the cup I lost on the Starbucks website, but they do have this one.  Since I usually use the cup I get now throughout the day and sometimes even the next day, I don’t feel guilty about the garbage and carbon issues.  It’s often a chore to convince the store personnel to use the same cup because they don’t seem to understand my thoughts about not making excess garbage and carbon unless necessary.  I miss my cup.

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

