image

So today I am feeling kind of blah. So I am trying to snap myself out of it by looking for bright spots in the world around me.

image

I am trying to see myself from the outside and I am looking at myself in a whole new way. Or trying to.

image

It is Beaver Week at American River College. Vote early and often. I don’t participate since the Russian Christians on campua banded together to take over the student government to support California’s Prop 8.

image

But you cannot avoid all of the celebration and hooplah that they are trying to muster without much effect. Plus the have had to make rules based upon the Prop 8 drama.

image

So even though I had taken the time to stop and admire the flowers.

image

Even seeing all the newly blooming spring clover couldn’t use the fear of Leprechauns and their evil mischief to scare away the funk I felt mysel slipping in to.

image

Until I sat down to charge my phone and saw the person writing on this white board. I was instantly captivated and mesmerized. Enthralled I watched as she wrote poetry with numbers on the screen. As she worked to solve the equation before my very eyes, the most romantic story ever told in poetic prose began to unfold before my very eyes like a classical Russian Ballet troop dancing to the some classic romantic piece. Sadly, it came suddenly to a most tragic and untimely end when the solution was realized.

image

The solutions arrival shattered the illusionary world created by the poetic flow of numbers acros the whiteboard in the smooth precise script and I realized that the author and performer was a she, not that it mattered in the least. I smiled and asked if I could take pictures for my blog. I didn’t share the fact that I think Nerd GurlZ Rock when she confesses to be a nerd even though it made my heart flutter with secret, lustful desire. Until she explaines that she hated numbers and math. She broke my heart and shattered my dreams in that moment.

image

So I decided to go hunting for better beaver. Found it. BOOOYAH!

image

Hanging out in the Student Center at American River College in Foothill Farms, Sacramento, California is always a beaver hunting experience. The school mascot is the Beaver. Seriously. When I see a girl on the swim team sporting school athletic wear, it makes me snicker and giggle.

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

