Back in the late 80’s I discovered Douglas Adam’s and The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy.  At one of the group homes, I was accidentally given the wrong medication and I had an adverse reaction:  vivid dreams, what the company termed nightmares.  It just wasn’t a nightmare to me but I could easily see that someone else could have a nightmare with the intensity.  Now that I am older, I can say it was like a Chantix dream.

In the dream, I was hiking through a clearing in the woods at night and a UFO landed.  The aliens were nice and friendly, they invited me to go to a party in another galaxy, the only problem was they could not be sure when they would return and time here would pass much more rapidly because of the way the ship traveled.  Hey, I am a nerd, my dreams are nerdy.  So, I decided to just go, I mean this was a once in a lifetime trip.

I somehow got left at the party and I kept hitching rides but how do you give someone directions to your house if you don’t know where you are and they don’t even know where the community you live in is.  I kept trying to describe our solar system and Earth to no avail.  I had this dream again when I visited San Francisco for Christmas Eve in 1999 from St. Louis while I was on the plane.  So I bought a gold “earth” charm and a snake necklace.  After that, when I had the dream, I would pull out the necklace and show it in the dream.  My imagination works that way, which makes my dreams more believable.  I lost it, the details do not matter. The dream is less fun because I cannot show them.

Then IFLS shared this item:

Solar System Necklace

I was like, that is awesome. :)  Then I searched and found this one:

Solar System Necklace with Scaled Distances

Which has a semi-proportional spacing.  Awesomeness.   I want one, so maybe someday. :)  So long, and thanks for all the Fish.

About Old Guy Student

I am a 43 year old IT Consultant who has decided to go back to school and get a degree.

Leave a Reply

